Organised by IOP Dielectrics Group
Sponsored by ESP KTN


The IoP's Dielectrics Group is hosting its biennial conference at the University of Reading to explore the ever expanding areas of influence of dielectrics research and application. 2013 will mark the 42nd anniversary of Dielectrics Group, and formerly Dielectrics Society, conferences in the UK.     

The conference will welcome contributions from physicists, chemists, materials scientists, engineers and technologists. The aim is to encourage much cross-over between the main themes. The conference will seek to combine retrospective and forward looking elements, as appropriate, and will therefore include all areas of study pertinent to dielectrics.

Download a copy of the Conference Handbook (7.87MB)

The conference will be arranged around four themes:

Theme 1: Insulation/HV Materials
Theme Chair: Dr Steve Dodd (University of Leicester)
Plenary: Prof John Fothergill (City University London)

Theme 2: Dielectric Spectroscopy
Theme Chair: Prof Ronald Pethig (The University of Edinburgh)
Plenary: Prof Gert van der Zwan (Vrije University, Amsterdam)

Theme 3: Dielectric Measurement Techniques
Theme Chair: Dr John Blackburn (NPL)
Plenary: Dr Bob Clarke (NPL)

Theme 4: Ferroelectric materials
Theme Chair: Prof Anthony R West (University of Sheffield)
Plenary: Prof S Milne (University of Leeds)


Download a copy of the First Announcement

Key dates

  • Early registration deadline:
    8 March 2013
  • Registration deadline:
    28 March 2013

Latest news

Download a copy of the First Announcement